Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Scooter Trip to Trincomalee 🛵☀️🥵🥰

    July 31, 2023 in Sri Lanka ⋅ ☁️ 34 °C

    After saying goodbye to Arunan, my amazing host in Pasikuda, and Stefan and Melanie, a great Austrian couple I've met there, I started my Roadtrip to Trincomalee 😎
    Starting at noon obviously wasn't such a smart idea, having my first shadow-break after 15km. 🙈
    Looks like I've to spot out a nice beach, nearby, to cool down a little.😅😎

    Edit: found a nice beach for a break 😍 Spent nearly two hours there, my private secret beach 😎

    Luckily some high clouds arose, so further trip was fine. Religious diversity here is amazing, permanently passing a Buddhist temple, a hinduist temple, a mosque or a Christian church. Some very new, some a little bit shabby, but all of them interesting. For me it's fascinating, that most of Buddhist temples having a small Hindu-shrine included or attached. Still trying to understand Sri Lankan Buddhism. 😅

    I'll come back to traffic in Sri lanka, when I've more experience, but there are two fundamental rules in Sri Lanka:
    -Permanently be aware of animals crossing the streets out of nowhere.
    -Right of way for the bigger one
    Following these rules, is half the battle. 😅

    In Mutur I took a wrong turn, so I accidentally found myself at a football ground, watching a match of two teenager-teams competing, surrounded by hundreds of spectators while loudspeaker-commenting pointed out the game moves. Nice event and a great atmosphere! 😊

    So, finally, arrived in Trincomalee after a six hour (sweaty) ride. Got not sunburned, had a very relaxed ride with several stops and enjoyed exploring Sri Lankan daily life and the landscapes. 🥰
    Read more