Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 53

    Going to Hinako Islands

    15 September 2023, Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    After I told Ami, I met at Sri Lanka, that I'm heading to Nias, she wrote to me: "You have to go to Hinako Islands!", I took a look, and decided to follow this amazing recommendation.
    So taking my scooter still was cheaper than a private driver (no public transportation available), and as locals would most likely do the same, a bike ride should be fine. Warned about bad roads and packed with all my stuff I headed to Sirombu, a small town where the ferry should leave, should be a 3 hours ride. Should 😅
    As I got ahead very well, even as I took some breaks and rode smooth, I made a small detour to Moale beach, a huge beach with endless long, big wave brakes, at that day. Being the only person there and admiring the ocean's powerful waves, let me lose track of time, a little. 🙈
    Nothing to worry about, but I had to go.
    Passing amazing landscapes, lot of rice fields, and permanently greeting and waving people, a very nice ride, but suddenly the roads were really bad.
    Learnt something: If Google Maps tells you, upcoming 20 kilometers will take 1,25 hours, some crazy roads are ahead. Huge holes, washed away streets, leaving stones, damaged concrete roads, more holes as road, haven't seen roads like this since rural areas of Cambodia.
    Exhausting, but finally done, arrived at the port, got informed there is only coast guard station, Pier for my ferry is on the other side of peninsula. Parked my scooter at the coast guard (Thanks Robi! 😊) and went on the tiny little ferryboat to Hinako Islands.
    Of course I was the only foreigner, some surfers just jumped on a speedboat, when I arrived at the Pier.
    Sitting on the roof of the boat, together with a group of young teachers, exchanging actual teachers on the main island of Hinakos, a chilled, but wave rocking ride started. 🤩
    Visiting one island after the other, unloading daily goods, construction materials or even two scooters, was fascinating to watch. Locals are already waiting on the Pier, to take their ordered goods and bring into their homes. Some carrying, some by scooters, some with huge trolleys. Lot of bags, Kartons, boxes, going around, rice, fruits, vegetables, beverages, food, ice boxes,... But also construction materials, like a ton of cement, wooden panels and boards, it was unbelievable, how many goods this small boat can carry 😲😅.
    After unloading, huge bags of roasted coconut shells are weighed and loaded, before leaving and heading to the next island.
    So, finally, after around 5 hours of round trip at Hinako Islands, we arrived at Pulau Asu, a beautiful tiny paradise in the Indian ocean.🥰
    Baca lagi