Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 66

    Lampung - Judi & Rafael

    September 28, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    So when entering the nice minibus from Pelambang to Lampung, heading on to Sumatra's south, I wasn't sure yet, if I'd go straight to Java, Jakarta, or make a detour to Krui.
    Krui was recommended to me from several travellers and locals as a beautiful beach and surfspot. As I was looking for some sunny weather and some more relaxing, after the long journey, I spontaneously decided to go to Krui, while the bus was entering Lampung city.
    During the bus ride I got in touch with Judi, a very friendly guy, living on Pulau Bangka and travelling to his father's home at Lampung, only for a 2-day-trip. As soon as I told him, that I wanted to go to Krui, he said there's a bus around nine o'clock and he'll help me to arrange everything. And for waiting for the bus, I should go with him to his home and have dinner, before. His friend was accompanying him for buying a car in Lampung and told me it's fine. So as all attempts to refuse this offer were unsuccessful, I accepted, so finally his 80 yrs old father Rafael picked us up at the bus terminal and we all together went to several travel companies to find the right bus for me, and after that was solved we had a nice dinner at a restaurant.🙂🤤
    Afterwards we went to a garage to inspect the car to buy, successfully picked up the car and ended up at Rafael's home. As Rafael's wife had passed away already her planted fruit-trees at their tiny home were her heritage we admired. Furthermore one of his granddaughters was winning a lot of modelling contests, so the home was packed with trophies, Rafael's wife's and family's pictures and souvenirs from Rafael's uncountable trips to Asia and even some overseas countries.
    Had some tea and nice talkings, until my shared minibus arrived for picking me up to Krui.
    Will never forget that amazing hospitality and the nice time we've spent together.
    Read more