Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 120–122

    Goodbye Java, hello Bali!

    November 21, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    While spending around 7 weeks on Java, I met some great people, saw some awesome places, celebrated my birthday, got my scooter, made >3.000km on it, climbed mountains, improved my surfing, visited 5 volcanoes, had amazing snorkeling experiences and even made some friends.
    Java was so different from Sumatra, but still Indonesia, now I'm curious, what I'll experience in the most touristy areas of this country.
    Went directly from the ferry to Canggu, in Bali's south, probably the most touristy area here. Very busy, very crowded, lots of tourists and travellers, a lot of partying, I fully understand, why it's called "Bali's Ballermann" 🤷
    Exploring some beaches and the shoreline was nice, there are several beautiful beaches and cliffs, beautiful landscapes and Balinese food is great, too!
    Skipped my plans to practice some surfing, here, as all the beach breaks were crowded as hell. Lombok should offer some nice surfspots, too.
    South Balinese landscapes and big city Denpasar were interesting to see, I took the opportunity to bring my scooter to the official Yamaha garage for a service, oil change and checkup (and a working rear light 😅). Everything was done quickly and cheap (€10 in total 😬) and riding feels bit better and more safe, now.
    After getting that done, I decided to leave this busy, touristy area quickly and head on to the north of Bali! 😅😎
    Read more