Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 123–126

    North of Bali - Lovina 🤿🐬🌊🏖️

    November 24, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    Lovina is a nice little village next to Singaraja (which was Bali's capital before it became a tourist hotspot), located on a small but very long black sand beach.
    As it's off-season, it's quiet, now, not many travellers and mostly couples or family tourists around here, lots of local tourists during the weekend.
    Dolphin tours are THE THING, here, I was literally jumping off my scooter as the first guys were approaching my, offering dolphin tours.
    I've already heard mostly not so good stories about the dolphin watching here, finally I was booking a tour from a guy who was recommended for doing it animal friendly and going to a different time, than most other tours are going.
    I ended up with very mixed feelings about the tour: There still were loads of boats going around, searching for dolphins and approaching them, as soon as they were spotted out. But except of a few very aggressive boatmen, everybody was going around slowly and carefully, when the dolphins were close by, not trying to chase them, but just following them.
    No clue, how bad it really is for the dolphins, for me they seemed not scared and even some were jumping and seeming like playing/racing with the boat, sometimes. It even looked as if they could have gone away from the boats easily, but in fact I really don't know. Due to the huge number of boats, which I really didn't expect that massively, it felt not really right and I wouldn't recommend doing a tour like this, there, if you have any other options to see them in a better setting.
    But I can understand why so many people (mostly local tourists were on the boats) want to see the lumba-lumba, as Indonesians are calling dolphins, they are amazing animals. 🥰
    On the other hand, snorkeling here was awesome, it widely reminded me of Karimunjawa, beautiful reefs and loads of fishes - never can get enough of the amazing beauty of a nice reef. 😍
    Had a great time here, thanks to Tea, my travel mate here, again, for a few days, I've found a beautiful homestay. For some days I was the only one staying there, I had a nice karaoke evening with the host, his family and a friend of them (and a lot of rice wine and palm wine😅), Sedap Malam homestay is the place to be in Lovina! 🥰
    Read more