Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 155–157

    Ende and Kelimutu volcano

    December 26, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Ich bin am Ende! 😑
    Ähm... ne, falsch, ich bin in Ende! 😅
    🤣
    (Joke for Germans, only, sorry guys.)
    From Ende city, I was told, goes a ferry to Kupang, the biggest Indonesian port at Timor island. Furthermore there is another spectacular volcano 😬😍
    Not too many more words, now. 🙈
    Ride from Badjawa to Ende was nice, again, seems like there's no bike ride without rain, anymore, at Flores, but I get used to and unexpected breaks at random places are often nice, too.
    While going to Ende, it turned out, that there was again some misinformation about the ferry going around, as the weekly only (!) ferry went on my day of arrival. Stressed me a little bit, as I REALLY wanted to see Kelimutu volcano and not directly leave from Ende to Kupang. However, it took me some time, but finally I found out that there's another ferry on the 28th from Aimere (that was wrong, again, another story... 😅🤣), so one day in Ende for Kelimutu volcano and one day to go to Aimere, was the plan.
    Found a fancy and cheap capsule hotel in Ende, modern, comfortable and clean, city is not special and small, but has it's own charm, donno why 😅
    Going to Kelimutu was a great ride with amazing roads and views, and the three volcano lakes were really spectacular. Two different coloured lakes in one crater, these intense, glary colors and hiking through this whole volcanic area was awesome. Again I felt lucky about the weather, as I was warned by locals that at this time everything is clouded so there's no view, but clouds opened up for me, but added a mysterious vibe, perfectly fitting to the mysteries and legends locals are telling about this volcano.
    Got some nice city life impressions, too, and visited some nice beaches along my way out of Ende, still a little bit worrying if I'll make it in time to Timor Leste, as I decided to celebrate new years eve there, but never regret my visit here, short, but impressive! 😎🤩
    Read more