Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 183–185

    Atauro island 🤩🤿🐠🪸

    January 23 in East Timor ⋅ 🌬 28 °C

    After one ferry was cancelled and then the weather was quite rainy, I finally decided to go to Atauro island, famous for one of the world's best reefs and maritime diversity. So that's the only place in Timor Leste which has kind of a touristy development, so a few diving centers and tourist resorts can be found here.
    Jumped right into the water to discover the reef from the beach: amazing!
    Directly booked another snorkeling trip to the most famous reef for the next day with some other travellers from there
    Even if the weather still was a bit cloudy, we were lucky as the sun came out and the reef was so beautiful!
    But unfortunately after coming back from snorkeling I felt a little bit more groggy as it should be and during the evening it got worse quickly. Had a hard night with joint-pain, body pain and feeling completely worn out. Obviously I fell sick. 😷
    Luckily another traveller I've met before in Baucau arrived right the next morning, so he was able to take back my scooter to the mainland by ferry on Saturday, so I could leave immediately with the speedboat. Back in Dili the (private) local hospital was decent and tried to do proper diagnostics, but not easy with those tropical diseases. So according to testing it was no Dengue fever and none of the common parasites you could meet in the jungle, most likely its the Chikungunya-fever, but I'll have to do a proper testing back home.
    Nevertheless, one week I suffered hard and didn't leave my hostel, eating painkillers like smarties and trying to get better.
    So my trip to Atauro was only for two nights - but as I already decided to come back to Timor Leste once again, I'll simply have to visit Atauro again. 😬😎
    Read more