Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Ten Years of Departures

    January 8, 2017 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ -16 °C

    As I sit on the plane, typing this, I think back to that very first trip Mario and I embarked on, 10 years ago. New to the whole overseas travel thing, and certainly not as equipped for the journey then as we are now, I remember how hard I searched and researched online for the trip. Back in 2007, the internet was still not the all-encompassing tool it is now for for travel-planning, so I spent many, MANY hours searching for places on the other side of the world. Now, 10 years later, I am booking apartments and planes tickets and train tickets and car rentals. I am wandering the streets and highways by way of satellite images and street views, though some places - as I have found out this trip - are still a mystery to even Google. I can choose my restaurants and attractions based on reviews I read, and even tour them virtually, if I want. I could easily never leave the comfort of my own home, and still travel the world...but there is something to be said for setting your feet on the ground of a new country, and diving head-first into a new culture. There is something that has drawn Mario and I back to the airport time and time again, and will continue to draw us across the ocean. So in honour of those 10 wonderful years of travelling the world, and many, MANY more, here's to another great adventure with all of you following along.

    See you on the other side!
    Read more