Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Our Camino de Santiago Plan

    March 26, 2018 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 46 °F

    Right now, we haven't left home, but in a couple of months my dream of someday doing the Camino de Santiago will come true. On June 17th, Alan and I will fly to Paris, catch a flight to Biarritz, France, and then make our way to Saint Jean Pied de Port, France by train to begin our trek.

    We are hiking the Camino Frances, which is one of the many ancient Camino de Sanitago pilgrim routes that stretch across Europe ending at the tomb of St. James in Santiago de Compostela in north-west Spain - 500 miles.

    I have been obsessing over this trip, which is crazy, because I shouldn't be. I am used to planning a trip's every detail, but for this I'm suppose to just let it go, walk until we are tired, find an albergue, eat, sleep, and do it all again...kind of resetting life back to the basics. I'm willing to do it, though. I crave simple.

    This map shows our route and some of the villages, towns, and cities we will walk through.
    Read more