Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 110

    Finally to Saint Jean Pied de Port

    June 19, 2018 in France ⋅ ⛅ 75 °F

    Today, we traveled from Paris to Biarritz France where we caught a shuttle (with 6 other pilgrims) to Saint Jean. All of the other pilgrims were from the US except one from Ireland...very nice people, who I’m sure we will see again. One girl had a water bottle with the word Elma on it - haha!

    It was surreal to finally be in this town that I have read about and seen pictures/video of. It is truly real, now, that we will begin this journey. I am grateful we decided to have a rest day tomorrow so we can get caught up on sleep and recover from our jet lag. We plan on doing some exploring of the town, getting our pilgrim passports stamped, and definitely eating some sorbet down the street. The weather is warm and muggy, but very pleasant. I might not like it so much as I start hiking up the Pyrenees 😂 I will be sweat ball!!!

    I put a few pics and short video snippets from today on here, and I have a longer video I will put on Facebook. Time for some sleep...Alan is already zonked.
    Read more