Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 137

    Foncebadón

    July 16, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 63 °F

    We walked about 16 miles today in order to get to Foncebadón. We wanted to be close to our hike up to Cruz de Ferro in the morning, so only rested in Rabanal and then climbed up to here. I told Alan Foncebadón reminded me of a ski lift area without the lifts. We enjoyed the hike today through the oak trees and pines, ferns and vibrant heather. It kind of felt like home.🙂 It was steep at times, and my left Achilles is really feeling it now. I’m really hoping it feels better in the morning.

    On the way here we walked past a fence that people had used to place crosses made out of the wood found on the ground. The fence paralleled the path for about a kilometer and it was full of wooden crosses - big, little, and everything in between.

    Cruz de Ferro will be an early stop in our hike tomorrow. Cruz de Ferro is a place where pilgrims who have carried a pebble/rock from home deposit it here and ask for protection for the remainder of their journey. I have heard though, that there is more to this. Pilgrims have carried their rocks and put their wishes, hopes and dreams into them - miracles hoped for with open hearts.

    Both of us will remove our rocks from their cute little “stone packs” and leave them there.

    It is time now for me to take some ibuprofen, check on my blister (which did great today), and zonk out. Today wore me out. 😴😴😴

    150 miles to go.
    Read more