Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    To Zubiri

    September 5, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 77 °F

    Alan’s foot passed a major test today in walking 13.6 miles to Zubiri - WOoHOO! We left in the dark at 6:30 am and after taking our time and stopping a few times for some nice breaks, we arrived to our room at Casa Rural Txantxorena around 3:00.

    It was a long day of hiking, and the descent down to Zubiri was comically steep on rocks and the uplifted rock layers that protruded straight up out of the ground like a dragon’s backbone. 🐉 Every time we turned a corner it somehow got worse. My right foot was cramping by the end from tiredness and probably needing more fluids. Every time I would drink a bottle, I would just sweat it all out 😂🥵

    Our room is in an old house from the 1600’s and it is gorgeous! I’ll post a few pictures. Right now, as I’m writing this, we have the window open to the balcony and I can hear the bells clanging on the horses’ necks off in the distance. The woman who owns the house did all of our laundry, saving us some hand washing time. And we were able to sit under some umbrellas and visit for a long time with some nice guys from the UK and the USA.

    Alan and I are really trying to remember the names of all the people we have met and where they are from. I’ve resorted to making a list because, since it’s a bit busier with pilgrims compared to five years ago, we are encountering so many! 🙂
    Read more