Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    To Puenta la Reina

    September 7, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 79 °F

    Today has been a good day full of great visits with all sorts of interesting characters and super nice people. It was also tough physically (the descent down from Alto de Perdon was still as rocky as we remembered), but both Alan and I felt stronger today. We took the time to stop periodically and also eat which helped tremendously.

    After these first days of walking People are tending to lots of sore muscles, blisters and other body ailments. Everyone is so kind and helping each other out by sharing bandaids, tape, etc. Kristin, from California, even gave me a new hair pony so I could get my hair up off my sweating neck. 🙂

    Speaking of sweat…I have been known to sweat quite a bit when I am hot, but the amount of it pouring out of my body these last two days has been UNREAL! The heat, plus some humidity, is bringing it to a whole new level! 😂 When we get to the end of our walk and I’m trying to check in to our room or bed for the night, I can barely see because of the salty, stinging sweat in my eyes. Thank you, Dad, for passing your “sweat a lot” genes to me. 💕😂

    A few people from today worth mentioning:

    Sally, from Australia 🇦🇺

    Sally is a landscape photographer and anthropologist. She is such a positive person who just oozes good karma. She jokes she’s a lucky person because of the gap between her front teeth. 🤣

    Steve - from Kentucky

    His stories of his airline mixups in getting to the start of the Camino and his descriptions of his physical trials over these past few days was pure comedy.

    The Young Boy Offering Lemonade

    Just before Puenta la Reina, when we thought the hot day’s walk was never going to end, we came across the nicest boy offering lemonade for a donation. He asked us where we were from and had a book we could sign. He even had a stamp to stamp pilgrim passports. He put a smile on a lot of people’s faces today. 💕 🍋

    Tomorrow, we walk to Estella. Tonight, we sleep in an air conditioned room - WOoHOO!!
    Read more