Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Final day in Byron Bay

    April 6, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    It was an absolutely beautiful morning, warm and not too breezy so I was able to get back in the sea on my final day here - so happy. It does my soul good.
    Visibility is great so there's an amazing view north up the coast to Mount Warning.

    This afternoon I headed back towards Cape Byron, only going as far as The Pass which has an unusual photographic vantage point from the Fisherman's Lookout. Then a stroll around the near-deserted Palm Valley loop (everyone else seemed to have a surfboard and be focused on the sea!) which is another beautiful enchanted woodland.

    Next is a real change, giving a different way to feed my soul. Over the next couple of days I work my way down to Adelaide to pick up a 4x4 trip into the dusty red interior at the start of next week with, I just calculated, Easter at Uluru, arriving in Alice Springs a few days later. It's going be very different to the relaxed pace I've been going at since I arrived in Oz but I'm ready for a change and really excited about getting into the outback.
    Read more