Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Resting in Darwin

    April 22, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    Arrived here from Alice Springs yesterday. Got a haircut this morning, so I'm less of the wild woman of the outback.

    I'm amazed by how antiseptic and soulless my accommodation feels. It's clean and modern, vaguely 'swish' and utterly wrong for me. When I was planning I thought it would be just perfect, but I'd rather be in a backpacker hostel. Tokyo on Wednesday, so all is changing anyway ...

    Now I know it's obvious, but 33-34 C and humid is quite challenging! It's a long time since I've been in the tropics. Too hot to explore much.

    One of my Rock Wallabies gang arrived during the day and we had dinner together. Nice to feel that some connections will persist as folk head to all points of the compass.
    Read more