Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 69

    Lava field home

    May 22, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    I've struck gold! Well I chose gold. This is the loveliest place (with one caveat, the composting toilet needs a spare part so there's only a portaloo 😝). The whole thing makes me think of Moomintroll again - rather Scandi with little huts dotted about. Inside it feels both cosy and fresh, so very different to the rainforest. And there's quite a strong breeze, so combined with the openness, 'no' mozzies. I'm bitten to pieces, so hurrah for that!

    And the setting is ace, on a huge lava field from I'm not sure when, with a 360 view and the ocean in the distanceb, and I have my own pahoehoe lava 😎 It's a few miles from here to the active lava, and a bit beyond me so I'll get a little trip. But judging by the steam vents I think I may see the glow at night. Wait and see...

    I need to give all of this time to sink in ... my whole trip was fitted around coming to Hawaii, seeing the lava (and the stars if I'm lucky) and feeling part of ... I'm not sure. Something larger.
    Read more