Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 75

    Towards Hilo

    May 28, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Today was my last major drive on Big Island; I've nearly finished my circumnavigation.

    I had to retrace some of yesterday's steps in the opposite direction and was amazed by the different perspective I got. Suddenly I could really see Kohala (volcano). I wanted a pic but there was nowhere to stop - the road had narrow shoulders with quite a drop-off and double yellows down the middle, so I couldn't just park up in the lane. Frustrating.

    You only have to look at a map and see all the rivers to know this is the wet side - the moisture-laiden trade winds from the east being forced by the volcanoes and creating torrential rain - that's what happened today. It was so heavy I pulled off the road and waited.

    En route I had a recommended culture stop at Tex Drive In, for donuts/doughnuts 😎 Really good - kinda square, no hole, no filling (my choice) just the right amount of squidge and sugar.
    Read more