Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 91

    Mossman Gorge and Daintree

    June 13, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    I headed up to the Daintree area today, which is essentially the ancient (world heritage) rainforest on the other side of the mountains to where I was yesterday, 'where rainforest meets reef'. I stopped off for an unexpectedly arduous walk at Mossman Gorge, then drove round to take the chain ferry across the Daintree River. The only other access to this area is to come down directly from the north (Cooktown area) by 4WD. I heard someone doing that yesterday got stuck in a creek crossing and their 4WD went up in flames. That's why I went the long way round!

    So now I'm well and truly in cassowary country. So frustrating to hear people saying 'oh yes they're everywhere' when I've seen nothing. On the other hand you never really know what people have seem - a couple I bumped into again at Mossman said they'd seen a lot, but what they saw were only 12" tall ... hmm, seems unlikely 🤔
    Read more