Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Porto 10k run

    March 13, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    I rode up to Porto today, leaving Lisbon behind and riding along the Atlantic coast that proved to be a stunning must-see experience. I would have probably missed this part if it was not for the rains as I'd be riding inland along TET and ACT. So I guess everything happens for a reason.

    I was in touch with Carlos, an old friend from BEST years and he was super-kind to offer me a place to stay with his family and a garage for the motorbike which is always an important consideration when staying in big cities. But it gets better, he told me coming on Sunday is fine but he does have this run at 7pm that he's going to which meant he would be away then. Hmm, a 10k run in Porto you say? Lots of people and a nice sightseeing opportunity in good company you say? Obviously I could not pass up the opportunity. It was too late to sign up but that hasn't stopped anyone before. I figured I had decent gear with me to withstand a 10k run so we did it! And it felt goooooood!

    I have to say, having partied in Lisbon the night before and then participate in a big city organized sports event with 10000 people, it feels like Corona never happened. As if, everything is normal again. It was great to get a little piece of the "old" life.

    Tomorrow is sightseeing Porto, doing the laundry, a few errands and hanging out with Carlos and his family which is always the most authentic way to "feel" the country.

    Then on Tuesday, the gods of rain seem to have come to an agreement that enough is enough and offer Portugal some sunshine so I am off to the northern point of Portugal, where TET starts while I still have to tire thread left :)
    Read more