Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Monk Bar and York Minster

    May 26, 2019 in England ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Well, I had hoped my ghost writer would carry through more than a single post but beggars can’t be choosers! (you’ll have to guess who if you can by the writing - except I haven’t read it yet, so maybe she tells you, maybe she doesn’t). Anyway, driving back into York was a bit busy, but my driving skills are steadily improving (and will be put to the test later in the day!!!). We had to make a couple of detours and even pulled a “look kids, Big Ben, Parliament moment” but unlike Chevy, I managed to get out the other side and on to our chosen parking lot. Surprisingly, spots were available and after paying for an hour - dumb machine wouldn’t let us add time - we hiked off into the city through Monk Bar and to the Minster. Very cool place, where outside, I was asked to take a picture for a British family. Being the cheeky American I am, of course I obliged! After taking the picture, the gent noticed my hat that said soccer and asked if I played. I responded I did a “long long time ago in a galaxy far far away” and his family told me their daughter was on a full scholarship in the states playing for a small school in Missouri! It’s such a small world. I mentioned that Taylor was also going to play in school and we had a nice conversation even though they had trouble with our funny “accent”. Unfortunately, while we went in the Minster and were able to look down the length, due to having to run back and add time to the car, we skipped doing the tour as we didn’t think we’d have time. In the end, we decided to head out and find the Jorvik Viking center, so while I left the girls in KK’s capable hands, I ran back to the car to add time and get us through the rest of the day. Yay Marty!Read more