Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Lovely place for dinner!

    May 26, 2019 in England ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    So, our hotel couldn’t fit us in for dinner, and I certainly wasn’t headed back out onto those roads - even though the two pints I had to calm my nerves also sucked enough brain cells out to make me think I could do it again! So we were very fortunate that there is another hotel about a ten minute walk down the road, yes the very scary narrow toad with no sidewalk... to take our mind off our imminent doom, we did what any American would do when surrounded by thousands of sheep, we bleated our way down the road annoying as many of them as we could. Apparently the British cyclist that passed us thought it was very amusing. Taylor said she was embarrassed it I reminded her there was a better than 50/50 chance they had been imprinted on the hood of a Citroen station wagon by now - and they think we’re the fools! Anyway, we made it down the road to dinner and enjoyed a few more pints, an incredible view as some really good food. KK and I had some fresh caught salmon for dinner while Taylor enjoyed a really good fried sole sandwich and Denise enjoyed a scrumptious hanger steak. We also sampled some smoked salmon and fresh bread too! I now remember why I gained 20 pounds when i moved over to live with Jan for 8 weeks! Good thing we are only here for 10 days, or they’d have to tie me to the tail of the plane and pretend they were dragging the Good Year blimp home! Fortunately we are doing a five mile hike tomorrow, provided I can keep KK from leading the pack and having us end up down in Wales! Hopefully we will have some pretty pictures tomorrow of us in the rain and my pants actually buttoned in the front!Read more