Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    I don’t mind a moody morning!

    March 20 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 45 °F

    It’s been a drizzly morning and I really don’t mind! I imagine the stones of Edinburgh wouldn’t shine quite so well if they were dry! After I bought my croissant and Americano, I walked through a small “locally made goods” market housed in an old church. I had to have a Rhubarb & Bramble hand lotion! Yummmm! My first plan today was to climb a hill called Arthur’s Seat for the views, but when I got to the base it was raining even harder and people coming off the trail had mud way above their ankles! So pivot! As I meandered, I came across the Calton Cemetery. Cemateries only seem right to me on gloomy days anyways. The old history represented in European cemeteries always fascinates me and some of the gravestone dedications were quite beautiful. Next I walked to Calton Hill Park. It was established in 1774 and was one of Britains first public parks! The views of the city from the park were great even on a grey day! Just a couple of blocks from the park I found The Society Kitchen, a very cute place to have my lunch and warm up.Read more