Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Headed to the Highlands!

    March 24 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 39 °F

    Leaving Stirling today, we headed south a bit to see the “Kelpies”. The Kelpies are a pair of monumental steel horse-heads that stand about 98ft high. They are relatively new sculptures, but are fast gaining notoriety and I can see why! Next was the visitor center for the Battle of Bannockburn. I’m so glad we took the tour which was another major learning experience for me. As I looked out over the beautiful hills and fields, it was hard to imagine the carnage that took place that brought about such a win for the Scott’s freedom. Afterwards we headed north to Pitlochry with a stop at Hettie’s Tea Rooms for lunch and some highly acclaimed tea and cheesecake. My “Rocky’s Rainbow” tea was soooo good! I especially appreciate how dog friendly many places in Scotland are. Made me miss mine, though. While I had plenty of scares at the narrow streets and small parking spaces, Pitlochry was definitely worth it! And, finally, after passing through some beautiful mountains dusted with snow and dotted with sheep, we arrived at Inverness (considered the capitol of the highlands)! We are staying at a darling B&B here for two nights.Read more