Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    St Jean Pied de Port

    May 31, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    As I am laying in the dappled shade of an enormous tree (elm?) digesting a delicious Salade Jardiniere and glass of white wine, I am hearing birdsong, a leafblower (cursed plague of infernal noisemakers!), wind in the branches, and the occasional sound of a car or truck rolling along below me.

    I cued up some french pop music on my playlist; keeping it 'local'. Maybe helping train my ear a little, too.

    I chose to hike up into The Citadel- a decaying fortress undoubtedly put here to control access to the mountain pass that awaits me tomorrow.

    I was much tempted to start my Camino today - the weather has been beautifully sunny and breezy. Tomorrow's forecast is much wetter but I am trusting that if rain is what I need to start my journey, then rain I shall have!

    I am glad for this choice: Saint Jean Pied de Port is a picturesque little mountain town with charm and charisma. I've enjoyed poking around and may do a little bit more this afternoon.... Once I have dropped off my pack. It only weighs ~7kg (15ish lbs) but those kg are less comfy than walking without the pack.

    Besides..
    Laying on a cool bench with a view is one of life's pleasures. Let's hope the thunderstorms hold back until at least 3:15 so I have time to get indoors!

    Among the tough challenges today: staying awake! Jetlag continues ro work its magic, trying to make me nap. I hope to hold out so that I reset my circadian memory by getting onto local time, better.

    But boy-howdy a nap sound wonderful!
    Read more