Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Grief, Release.... Repeat

    June 17, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 63 °F

    For those following my emotional meanderings....

    We had a prayer after dinner at the donativo* which includes reading notes left by previous pilgrims who request prayer/support.....

    Tip: if you're dancing with emotional pain/grief, sitting through a dozen tales of woe and suffering is a great way to get some of your own juices flowing. Mine all tried to flow out my eyeballs.

    I wandered off to a wheat field, had a sobbing good cry, a few laughs when a kitten came to check on me**, then spent a moment thanking those who have been so amazingly supportive.... and slept soundly on a thin mat in a room of 10 people with one window.

    All in all, a very painfully good process.
    I do wish I had unpacked this ~11 months ago.... Glad to be doing it now.

    Best to you all!
    Thanks for the messages of support.

    *A donativo is a donation based (religiously subsidized) hostel that is very true to the origins of the pilgrimage aspect of The Camino.... No frills, community meals, simple. Inherently, they have religious overtones that do not mesh naturally with my own belief system, but stepping outside my views is important to me and I am learning a great deal.

    **The kitten came back to check on me this morning as I was getting ready to depart; brought me a mouse. It's gonna be a good day.
    Read more