Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Rain. Agés

    June 17, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌩️ 73 °F

    I'm sitting in a bustling bar where they serve the hipsteryist hamburgers I've seen since Oakland. Good beer, too.

    It is pouring Wolves and Tigers outside with violent blasts of lightning and thunder. Fabulous! But certainly deters my urge to explore. I may just brave it.... After 2 days of monk-style living I want something shallower.

    I'm feeling very aware of time-dilation. Can't quite wrap my head around the fact I left SFO just 18 days ago. It feels like so much more! And yet, that my life kind of crumbled out from under my feet about 3 months ago still feels recent. Strange. Let's not even unpack what happened a year ago. Time.... It is a slippery beast, that one.

    And so I sit, waiting for a break in this savage storm (no exaggeration, this is a doozy) and debating between a 2nd beer or getting soaked to see what else (and who) is out there.

    Among the fun aspects of this particular journey is how quickly people bond. An hour of chatting on the Camino, I know some people better than others with whom I've had casual connection for months, at home.
    Read more