Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Murias de Rechivaldo from Villavante

    June 29, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 72 °F

    A cool breeze blew all day, which kept off most of the heat but bedeviled my attempts at hiding from the sun under a straw hat.

    I didn't get much of a sunburn, maybe it's windburn? I'll be fine.

    The walk started hazy and cool enough to want a fleece. Delicious walking weather.

    We passed through fields and over some roadways to see Puente de Óbrigo... An enormous medieval bridge spanning what I assume were marshy riverside lands but are now drained fields with a cute town. Also enioyed a snacky chocolate croissant. Yum.

    The trail took us upward shortly afterwards, climbing gently but steadily up a few hundred feet to get our first glimpse of Astorga. Astorga is bigger and prettier than I expected. We had a good lunch and admired the cathedral but wanted to get a little out of town for better sleep (cities are loud) and pushed onward to a cute little spot with a charming lodging.

    I snoozed in a hammock (which is always my favorite thing), played with a dog (always my favorite thing), enjoyed an ice cold draft beer while swapping story with a fascinating international traveler (my favorite thing), and enjoyed live music while eating a healthy meal (my favorite).

    All in all.... The day finished strong.

    Also... Good doors today.
    Read more