Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Molinaseca

    July 1, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 63 °F

    Hiking down the loose rubble and smoothed stones of a relentless descent made me glad that we chose to summit/cross yesterday.

    Did I mention the pool?
    That is still smiling me today.

    My wrists are sore - I adopted a pair of hiking poles on Thursday and used them all day yesterday. I think that they helped me enjoy a more stable hike and I suppose that the soreness indicates that they shifted some weight off of my knees. Good things.

    The scenic and flowered trail dropped a few thousand (no exaggeration, I think it was over 2,000) to the picturesque town of Molinaseca. One crosses a quaint Roman bridge and enters narrow, medieval feeling streets and alleys. Walking down main street at 9am on Saturday was eerily quiet but stunningly pretty. We did pass through another, tiny, town earlier but it was entirely somnolent at about 8am - the only indicator of life ws that someone set out a pot of coffee, free, for pilgrims to fortify themsleves on rhe descent. Very kind.

    Now refreshed with a proper coffee and a generous portion of tortilla we will push westward!
    Read more