Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Self Care Day; Triacastela

    July 4, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    The descent today looked brutal on a map, and crowds are growing and it was time to do some self care...

    So today's was a short 15km to Triacastela.
    I treated myself to a wash and haircut (and shave). Delightful. The sweet haircutter was tickled that I understand and almost can speak Gallego. We had fun.

    After the cut I caught up w Bruce for a delicious lunch and a bottle of wine for less than the cost of a bottle of wine in California. As we ate, I noticed a physical therapy storefront who advertised masaage. When they opened at 3pm (about the end of lunch anyway) I popped right in for an hour of pampering. Why not make it a full spa day?

    60 minutes of legs, feet, and back: a pilgrim's massage. Amazing. Luxurious. Healing. Wonderful. Well worth the 45€ pricetag.

    A nap was the best next thing before a ahower and then back to a spiffy bar to enjoy my annual scotch. Dad was an enthusiast and I felt it would be a good remembrance of his last day, to toast him. I'm glad that I did. It felt right and tasted pretty good.

    The rest of the evening was tasty snacks and pleasant conversation.

    Tomorrow we walk again. The increase in short-distance 'pilgrims' means that we have to plan more specifically, but I think it'll be fine.
    Read more