Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    2nd Shoe Failure

    July 7, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 57 °F

    Well.... Now both shoes have at least one failure. I'm sure that they'll make it another 79KM, but I'll be shoe-shopping soon.

    I'm not complaining. I have walked over 800KM in these with only 1 blister*. They're good shoes. I'll miss them.

    Shoes are quite the topic of conversation on The Camino. We all compare notes and are intimately familiar with just how our shoes need to be adjusted.

    One of the significant advances in foot comfort has been at least 1, sometimes 2, "sock stops" in which I remove shoes and socks, allowing everything a chance to dry out a little. I then re-powder my feet before setting out again (some folks prefer vaseline vs. powder). It feels so good to have a break and to start anew. On a really long day I might even don fresh socks. Luxurious! But requires added laundry.

    Among the amusing phenomena related to feet: any time we rest for more than a few minutes, upon walking again it really feels like "these aren't my feet anymore. I don't know how to use them at all"

    It takes at least 20 meters of mincing shuffle-step to start to loosen up the tight parts and then walk again. "Fun"

    River/pool soaks at the end of the day's walking are wonderful. Pure joy.

    *Clyde is doing pretty well. No infection, seems to be receding on his own. I won't miss him.
    Read more