Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Venezia (pt 1)

    July 26, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 73 °F

    Venice.

    From the moment I stepped out of the station I was wow'ed (see video and/or insert Owen Wilson voice)

    It is iconic. It is historic. It is water and motion and marble and sunshine. It is really freakin' crowded with tourists (like me!) I want to love it even more than I do.... And suspect that I can if I spend some time outside peak hours (and possibly with a partner- it is a romantic place, after all).

    My first inclination was to swerve off of the main (crowded) path and see if I could find a street with some breathing space. It was remarkably easy to do and I was greeted with the soft sounds of classical (Viola? Cello?) music echoing gently off of the walls around me. Perfection. My heart was full in that delicious moment of reality. (See video 2)

    I found a few thousand pretty vistas with water and colorful buildings in various states of decay - Venice looks *old*, even the homes that are still in use. I guess that's just their vibe? Whatever it is, it's an aesthetic that I find casually beautiful, comfortable, and compelling.

    After passing several, I popped into a gelateria to get my first scoop. The kind person behind the counter enthusiastically recommended the dairy-free mint chip. It was amazing! Six stars out of five.

    My path eventually rejoined the throngs at the Piazza San Marcos. The place was overflowing with beautiful young people who seemed remarkably overdressed. It took me a minute to realize that the university had a graduation ceremony that day! Fun. Seeing happy people hugging and laughing and getting absolutely shit-faced with their well dressed friends while singing college songs? 10/10 for vicarious joy.

    After a painfully overpriced coffee (to be expected in this disneylandesque setting) I queued up for an hour to see the most spectacularly over-decorated church of my experience so far. Amazing. Bought a hat, too, because: sunshine. Attentive readers may recall that I mentioned having lost nothing so far? Well.... I broke that trend on a bus along the way and donated my Camino hat to some lucky stranger.

    Basílica San Marcos is what happens when enterprising Venetians travel the world, plundering the fortunes of others and show off the results in and on (and under) an extravaganza of marble and mosaic.

    I won't bore us with all the details, it's a lot of art and architecture and religion and Wow.

    I was amazed at the bazillions of tiny little gold-leaf infused squares of glass that make the interior glow. Well played, church. Well played indeed.

    The rooftop section is only accessible if you pay extra for the 'museum' tour. I'm glad I did as the views!!! Superb.

    You'll pardon me if I re-use superlatives, I am running low. It's that kinda place.
    Read more