Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 112

    Akinan'ny Nofy

    October 30, 2023 in Madagascar

    I'm sitting with my feet in soft white sand, and looking at brilliantly green plants growing out of lakewater that is just a mere shade darker than the brilliantly blue sky.

    It feels like I've crawled into a Kodachrome universe that's so bright it hurts. Ok, maybe Velvia, if I'm being literal instead of poetic, but the former sounds better.

    It's beautiful; warm, but not particularly muggy and there's a gentle breeze ruffling the trees.

    I've taken one hike and two swims in one of the two lakes that surround the resort where I'm staying, watched a sunset and a sunrise, played cards over dinner (boulet? Incredibly complicated and no easier in mostly-French), slept deeply, oggled the nearly full moon as she slipped out of the sky, and enjoyed the company of some semi-tame Indri Indri.
    Read more