Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 68

    Last night in Santiago

    June 18, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    After an unsuccessful night trying to go dancing on Friday ( people started arriving at 11:45) but I just couldn't stay awake I went for a wander in town after a siesta about sunset (10 pm in Spain)

    Funny story apparently General Franco made Spain change its timezone to match Nazi Germany as a show of support 75 years later they are still trying to change it back.

    Anyway everything was dead so I was wandering about looking for festival music finding a few funny dressed people and one not particularly great music group( the first group pictured)

    I arrived at the square and saw another dressed up group about to start so I joined the small group of watchers and then saw a woman from the Albergue who I had been chatting with earlier.

    This go was pretty good a nice mix of songs and gallic bagpipes, operatic performances and we were at the front with the dancers so that was fun.
    Read more