Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Gent to Antwerp

    April 27, 2016 in Belgium ⋅ 🌧 6 °C

    So I took a day to rest up in Gent - did my washing, recharged everything, looked at old stuff. It seems like a really nice town, a bit more functional than Brugges, but it seems like theta a lot going on.

    The weather didn't improve, so the next day was a short cycle in the wind, rain and hail back to our last campsite. I hid inside the tent trying to stay warm and dry, not even getting out to cook.

    The next day, my plan was to get through Antwerp and head to a campsite just south of Breda, however the cobblestones of Antwerp were too much for my overloaded rack, and a bolt snapped, leaving a broken stub inside the eyelet. This needed to be drilled out, so I found a hostel and consoled my with a nice (cheap!) Dinner out in Antwerp. Such is life!
    Read more