Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Oranges

    February 11, 2020 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    The amount of walking that I'm doing here is certainly helping my foot. Today I walked for a hour and a half inside most of the walls of the medieval city. It gets swollen and sore afterwards but at least I'm not now using crutches or a walking stick except when I get tired - I still intend to use the crutches on the journey home in a few weeks, and get all the help I that I can through security and the rest of the queues!

    The city harvests all the Seville oranges around the end of January. Last year we were just in time to catch some to take home for marmalade, but this year they were all gone - disaster! Then in my walk today I passed just one small square where they had missed them so managed to pick some, they were even low enough down that I could reach them easily. I'll check again before we go home to see if they are still there in case we need more.
    Read more