Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    The Uffizi

    September 21, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Breakfast in the sun on our terrace, lovely - so it was difficult to drag ourselves up and out, but I'd planned to spend all day in the Uffizi gallery and lynette was going to the archaeological museum. I think my mother would be amazed, and I hope delighted, to find my interest in art late in life!

    I was expecting the Uffizi to be packed- the whole city is tourist central, but in fact it was OK, only the huge groups of Chinese got in the way, but they just looked at the highlights, looked at what they were told to look at, and took their selfies, then went on their way!

    I managed to get round in about 5 hours, and saw all the works I wanted to see, and many more , learning about lots of painters that I didn't know before. Then home for a couple of hours outside again.
    Read more