Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Sunday again, rain again!

    February 11 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    I had thought I may go to watch jerez's non-league team play, Jerez industrial, but the stadium is way over on the other side of the city, its uncovered, and its been raining all day again, so I'm staying in! Yesterday we went to the fish market, which is incredible and full of all kinds of fish we never get at home, so today we're cooking white prawns from huelva, and the big clams that finlay loves ( sorry finlay!)

    This morning I went to the cathedral with lynette., she went to mass, but I just wanted to remind myself what it looked like. They also have two paintings that i would like to see, a madona and child by murillo and the other by zurbaran of the young Mary sleeping. (Both local artists from andulcia). Sadly they are both in the vestry and this is closed to the public during mass so I didn't get to see them. They have a poster showing the zurbaran outside, so I had to make do with that.

    The biggest excitement of yesterday was the arrival of an oven! The one disappointment of this apartment was that it had no oven just a hob. We mentioned this to Javier, the owner, when we arrived and he said he would get one. Lo and behold he brought an IKEA oven and installed it so today we are roasting vegetables to go with the seafood. He really is a good host.

    So tonight's dinner is white prawns, clams, roasted peppers, aubergines and garlic, and papas alinadas - potatoes in olive oil and sherry vinegar .
    Read more