Satellite
Show on map
  • Alcazarén To Puente Duero

    September 18, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    How much more pine forest and farm track can I take!

    We broke into the 400’s today!!

    It was an early start to a 24 km day. With only one town as a rest stop in between. Paul has recovered from his over indulgence the other day, and we all made good time. Well except for one small deviation that I made when only a few kilometres from our destination. I was ahead, and the trail seemed to head off into the hills. After not seeing an arrow for a while, I arrived at the top of a hill overlooking a valley. A little further on, the trail ended at a farmers field. So, it was back up the hill and back to the spot in question. I phoned Petya on whatsapp, and she told me to follow the path parallel to the road. When the truth later came out, it seems that Petya had CHEATED by using her phone GPS. Anyway we all arrived at a nice little albergue run by a very interesting man named Yurgen from Germany.

    Also with us, is Marie from Lourdes France. Marie is 72, and has done 2 Camino’s per year for the last 20 YEARS!!!

    There was no where to eat in this town, so we all got some food at the local tiende, and conjured up a great meal. I was chastised by Marie, for putting butter on my bread! Simply not done in France!

    Time for bed!
    Read more