Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    An Exiting Day!

    April 10 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Oh what a day! I was in a hurry this morning to pack up, because I new it was going to be a big day. Have a look at the elevation pic! I started walking at 7:00am, and walked about 8 km's to the first cafe bar to have a sandwich before takling the mountain. When I went to pay however, I looked down to where my money pouch is around my waist, and there it was, GONE! PANIC!
    My passport, etc... in it. A fellow pilgrim was kind enough to pay my bill, and the bar owner called a cab for me to go back to the albergue and check. Well it"s enough to say that the next few hours were a right off. We had to wait for another cab that had a mobile payment machine so that I could pay using the tap of my phone. It was not at the albergue! Back to the cafe bar. The other pilgrims were fantastic. One even had a spare credencial so that I could keep going. Anyway the next thing was the mountain and another 12 km's. I arrived at the albergue and used the euros lent to me by Rafael the guy from Uruguay. I would start to figure out a plan. I went in and started to unpack my bag. Low and behold I glimpsed my money belt underneath my sleeping bag at the bottom. It must have been stuffed in there. Problem instantly gone! HURRAY! It was a little embarrassing at dinner when we all were together, and they deservidly had their fun. It felt good to pay everyone back tho. What special people. Anyway all is well that ends well.
    Read more