Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Returning From The Snorkeling Tour

    April 4, 2011 in Belize ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    On the way back to shore, the captain gave Paul some fish bait so he could feed the seagulls. Apparently, they were expecting it, because a ton of them started following the boat.

    I realized (too late) that I was extremely sunburned, even though I had been wearing SPF 70. Unfortunately, Paul was worse than me. Maybe tanning before the trip helped out a little. My feet, shoulders, wrists, and forehead were the worst. Paul's back, feet, legs, shoulders and forehead were the worst for him.

    We spent the entire way back hiding from the sun in a shaded spot in the boat.

    Luckily, the Rastafarian boat captain kept feeding us rum, shouting, "Rum, rum, rum! Drink up! It's an alcoholiday! It's 5 o'cock somewhere."

    He fed us ceviche for lunch and said, "I'm not trying to be smart, I'm being cool".

    We saw more nurse sharks, a moray eel, a sea turtle, sting rays and an eagle ray.
    Read more