Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Delayed Flights and Shady Drug Deals

    July 10, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 0 °C

    We finally made it to Juneau. It seems like it took forever to get here from ANCHORAGE! 😂

    We stopped by Silver Gulch in the airport before our flight, and I had the most awesome drink there. I can’t remember what it was called though (damnit!)... something like a rhubarb... spritzer? I don’t know. Whatever it was, it was delicious! It had wine and rhubarb syrup and seltzer water (maybe?). Magic sauce. 🤤 Seriously. Go get one right now!

    Paul’s my polar opposite, so naturally he hated it. He had a boring cider instead. (Boring!)

    Our flight was delayed by about a half an hour. Thankfully, it wasn’t as bad as the one going to Bethel. They were having some mechanical issues and were delayed for over an hour, with no end in site.

    When we got into town, I forgot what car company I reserved the rental at and couldn’t pull it up on my phone. It was still in airplane mode. 😂 (I know. I’m special.) For business trips, I usually book with Enterprise, but for whatever reason Past Shawna obviously forgot about, I went with Budget (my go-to on personal trips because they’re cheaper).

    Whatever. I still couldn’t find the reservation, but Car Guy offered a $30 discount if I wanted to take one that hadn’t been washed. I figured it was a win-win situation for both of us. I saved some money, and he didn’t have to wash the outside of a car. Deal!

    While he was checking the mileage (and, I assumed, making sure there wasn’t any trash inside the car), I found my original reservation. (Did I mention that I’m special? 😝).

    Just as we were sorting everything out, we realized that pretty much every restaurant in this small town was either already closed for the night, or was going to close in a half an hour. We decided that we had better stop for dinner before checking into our hotel, or we probably wouldn’t be eating at all.

    We went to The Hanger on the Wharf, and watched the giant cruise ships float around in the harbor. The service was great (customer service workers always recognize their kind of people), but the food kind of sucked. Seriously, how do you mess up Fettuccine Alfredo? It’s like the basic of the basic Italian-American dishes. 🤯 Anyway, the wedge salad was awesome, and I’m planning on eating the rest of it in like five minutes.

    I don’t recommend going to The Hanger, by the way. I went there on my last trip here and had the crab mac and cheese (right!!!! 🤤), but they messed that up too. Almost made me cry. Crab Mac and cheese! How could you mess that up!?

    I booked our stay at The Ramada this time around. It had a better rating than the last hotel I stayed at (which sucked, by the way), and it was cheaper. I always like to save my company money when I can. Also, more importantly, I get 2000 airline miles for doing something I’m going to do anyway. Super win!

    Anyway... this place is a dump. (Maybe all of Juneau is a dump. I don’t know.) We had to navigate around some road construction to find the place because the road the hotel is on is shut down. But, we found it. While the google navigator kept yelling that we were going the wrong direction. Also, apparently, I don’t know my right from my left. (I used to be able to blame that shit on smoking too much when I was younger, but I’m completely sober.)

    This place is definitely pretty shady. There were a couple of junkies trying to check into a room when we arrived. They didn’t have any credit cards and were trying to pay in cash. Front Desk Lady didn’t know how to do anything with cash, so she checked us in before she got back with them since she had to do some “digging around in the system”. The room is pretty big, and there’s a “balcony” that you can go out onto, but you have to go through a window to get to it. Did I mention that we’re on the first floor? Paul also told me that there was also some pretty obvious drug deal going down in the parking lot outside.

    I’m locking the doors (er... windows) while I sleep tonight. I need to make sure no one steals my salad!
    Read more