Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Seattle

    January 14, 2020 in the United States ⋅ ❄️ 1 °C

    I watched the sun rise outside the window of the plane. It was red and gorgeous. The color bled all over the clouds until the yellow sun lit up the sky. Followed by the never ending blue of the sky.

    Paul and Susan left on their normally scheduled flight straight to NOLA. I’m off to Dallas. So much for paying any attention when booking my flights. I guess that’s what I get for booking a cheap flight. 😂

    I sat and listened to a guy play the piano in the middle of the terminal. He sang and filled the walkways with music. People stopped rushing to get where they were going and slowed down to hear him play. One lady joked and bribed him to play some blues.

    Afterward, I sat at my gate and watched a young mom and her mom who had packed wayyy too much stuff for Baby. They both wore matching plaid shirts. As Grandma fumbled around packing up their stroller and car seat (???) and baby bag and carry-on tote and the rest of the random items they dragged along with them, other passengers offered to help carry their loot. I was surprised when they declined and managed to wrangle it all between themselves. With Baby in Mom’s arms. And their newly purchased coffee from Starbucks. Which they didn’t spill a drop of.

    As they were awkwardly fumbling about, two younger men stood to offer their seats to an older couple. My faith in humanity has been restored.

    I can’t sleep on planes, so I have now been awake for 24 hours. 🧟‍♀️ Hopefully, I can drift off and catch some z’s on this 3 hour leg.
    Read more