Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    The Uncertainty of ETTA

    May 3, 2014 in India ⋅ ⛅ 35 °C

    My plan was to start at 4:00PM on April 29. As I do for all the long trips, On the day of our ETTA start, I did visit the FIAT RDC Service, Ambattur to get the car checked for all Fluids, alignment and balancing corrected, brakes checked etc. I visited the RDC at 10:45AM and was there till 12, just to hear the SA tell me he cannot get all these done by evening, and he can try his best to give the car by 6:30. It was not the usual SA I go for in RDC. If it was my usual SA who was on leave that day, I just need to tell him I am going to Munnar today for 5 days. He would take care of everything without me telling anything. But this SA was least bothered. So had to leave the RDC getting nothing done. Got the alignment and balancing checked outside, washed the car outside, small shopping and then reached home at 3:30PM. Immediately started loading the car and by 5:00PM we were ready to start. Oops !!!! I didn't check the fluids. Opened the bonnet and was shocked to see the Coolant was empty, dry. How could this happen ? Drove the car straight to RDC again with my wife, kid and luggages. The same SA came to me. I ignored him and went to another guy and told him the situation. The first thing he told me was "you should have come in the morning, I could have got the car ready for a long travel". The exact opposite what the other SA told me. Then he said, "don't worry sir, empty coolant box is a worst case, will get it checked. But if it the worst case you might not be travelling today." The car was put on the ramp, checked for any leak, then he emptied a full paraflu into the coolant container and again checked for any leaks. He assured me there is no problem, and this issue was a result of water pump change in the 60K service which requires a coolant topup after 5k. At 6PM the SA gave a go signal and we started from the RDC. What a coincidence, the HU was playing the song "Yenga Ooru vandi" from the movie Pannaiyarum Padminiyum exactly when I was coming out of the RDC gate just like the first 15 secs of this Video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=br7ZIAilwwI. I pointed it out to my wife and she was relieved of all the tension.Uncertainty broken and Here starts the ETTA....Read more