Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Day 11: Getting a workout in

    January 2 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    I have been trying to get in workouts regularly while on this cruise cause, you know, cruise food. I normally workout, at home, Monday, Wednesday and Friday. I have a 3 day workout plan that I follow. At home, I get up when I get up, cause you know, RETIRED. I have breakfast of oatmeal, then about an hour later head to the gym. Shout out to my PF friends.

    On the ship it’s different. I am not an early riser. And I have to plan around port days and if we are heading out on an excursion. But I am still trying to get in 3 days of weight training. I’m also taking the stairs instead of the elevator. Our stateroom is on deck 8. Most of the restaurant options are on the 2nd deck. The fitness/spa is on the first deck.

    I have had to make adjustments to my workout routine. They do not have barbells, only dumbbells and only 6-8 weight machines. So I have to substitute exercises. I do a goblet squat with a dumbbell instead of a barbell squat. I’ve also had to convert pounds into kilograms and lower the weight ( you can lift more with a barbell than dumbbells because the weight is better distributed. But any workout is a win.

    So if you see me wheezing on the stairs landing, it’s all good. I’m good. I’m fine.

    #myvikingjourney #vikingneptune #workout #gym
    Read more