Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Day 15: Cabo San Lucas, Old School Tri-X

    January 6 in Mexico ⋅ ☁️ 72 °F

    Back in the mid-seventies I attended Massachusetts College of Art, in Boston as a photography major. These pictures I took in Cabo San Lucas and San José del Cabo had more of an “old school” feel for me. Brought back some pleasant memories for me.

    I remember spending most of the day with my old Canon Rangefinder, 28mm wide angle lens, with 6 to 8 rolls of 35mm Tri-X film in my pockets - walking around the likes of Kenmore & Copley Square, as well as, treacherous journeys into the feared Combat Zone of Boston.

    After a day of shooting, I would head back to school develop the rolls of film in the negative lab. While the film hung to; dry I went and had a sandwich at the shop across the street. Then the rest of the night was in the darkroom with a 6-pack or two of beer in the print washer while several of us spent countless hours printing up the shots of the day - to be presented in class the next morning. There were many nights we slept on the darkroom floor because we missed the train home and had an early class in the morning anyway.

    I believe sometimes color distracts from the story - It’s good to go “ole’ school” once in a while. Please enjoy these images Black & White images of our day in Cabo San Lucas Mexico.

    #myvikingjourney #vikingneptune #sonyrx10 #CaboSanLucas #B&Wphotography
    Read more