Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Day 44: Auckland (D3) & Wings of War

    February 4 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 72 °F

    As a kid I can remember building WWII model airplanes and hanging them from the ceiling over my bed.

    Today seeing these two fully restored airplanes; A Japanese Zero and British Spitfire up close, as well as, a German V-1 Flying Bomb was really thought provoking for me.

    I am sure, I am not the only one who thinks - what would our world be like if we no longer needed War Memorials?

    There are also a couple of other images from our visit today at the Auckland War Memorial Museum. Today, is day 3 of our three days in Auckland.

    We enjoyed walking around, the food, the sights, Only heard a couple of cars honking their horns. Auckland is a nice clean, metropolitan city.

    It’s 6:30: PM, Sunday, Feb 4, The lines have been cast from the pier and pulled in, the Captain has just put the ship into reverse, as we slowly back away from the dock. The ship’s horn blows as I type these words. I can feel the ship shake as the thrusters engage turning this huge ship in a 180 degree rotation.

    Good-bye Auckland, New Zealand.

    The Neptune is now on its way to Tauranga (Rotorua) New Zealand, where we will make port for the day tomorrow.
    Read more