Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 79

    Day 79: Fried ball - Sticky Rice

    March 10 in Vietnam ⋅ ☁️ 91 °F

    Donna and I did the Mekong Delta over night excursion, over-the-top amazing. Our guide Vin was excellent, Rodrigo was Viking’s support staff he went over the top helping people. It was like 6-7 mini-excursions wrapped up into one big tour. The Azerei Island Resort was amazing.

    But, this was just plain cool ….

    On the way back to the ship on day two we stopped at the “Mekong Rest Stop.” It is a very nice stop to get a toilet break, a nice meal, and souvenirs.

    I jumped ahead a bit and I saw this man making Fried Ball - It was just fun looking. I knew I would want one of these with our meal.

    Brian, Sue, Donna, and I sat down and ordered a lunch of spring rolls, rice, and I insisted on getting a Fried Ball - they looked at me like I had 4 eyes. They didn’t trust me for a minute. However, they didn’t see what I had seen earlier. I do wish I watched the whole process from beginning to end.

    We ate our lunch, the spring rolls had a different style wrapper that tasted wonderful not the heavy fried style you are use to being served. Then finally our Fried Ball arrived.

    How the heck are we going to eat this? The waitress took out a pair of scissors, and cut it into pieces and folded them one to a small plate. Some of the pieces had sticky rice in between. She also served us the a plate of the sticky rice that was in the bottom of the ball.

    The taste was a wonderful sweet desert. Brian, Sue, and Donna all apologized to me for having their doubts and not trusting me. It is an amazing desert. If you ever have the opportunity to try a Fried Ball & Sticky Rice don’t hesitate.

    #myvikingstory
    Read more