Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Farewell Maldives

    March 12, 2023 on the Maldives ⋅ 🌬 27 °C

    What an amazing trip. We had a great time enjoying the sun and ocean these last couple days.

    For our second to last dinner, we enjoyed a Teppanyaki set menu dinner looking out over the sea. Our chef was incredible, and cooked us Wagyu beef, the best fried rice, and seared prawns. Served with delicious aged sake and cocktails, we were quite stuffed by the end of our meal.

    To continue chronicling our food, we enjoyed many free breakfasts during our stay including lobster and crab omelettes, dosa, congee, dumplings, poached eggs, and endless meats, cheeses, and fruit! Oh and free flowing prosecco. 🥂

    We didn't only eat of course, we read, explored the island, spa'd, and I partook in many snorkel trips from our bungalow. On my last snorkel excursion, I spotted a sea turtle and manta ray! A major highlight for me! The turtle hung out in the coral right in front of our villa and let me follow him around for a while. It was incredible! I will miss the daily ocean exploring and swimming with all the colorful fish.

    We wrapped up the trip watching the sunset with some grilled octopus, cooked cod, and lobster (sorry snorkeling buddies 😢). Followed by some star gazing and cocktails.

    As I write this, we are at the airport, waiting for our flight to Singapore. While I'm quite sad to be leaving this dream vacation, I'm glad the travels continue and work is still a few weeks off. And I'm working on daydreaming up my next remote island vacation much to Igors excitement.

    Stay tuned for many tasty food pics!
    Read more