Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Twin Town

    October 9, 2023 in France ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    I said in an earlier update that I'd been to Nantes before but I think I misjudged timings slightly.
    Every year a group of students took a trip to Ancenis, Kirkham's twin Town, which sits on the Loire River, in Vendee region. I expect this exchange business happens across the lands. For two weeks they stay with the French family of a similar aged student to be immersed in French living. The students then travel on mass, French and English, back to Kirkham for the reverse experience.
    1982, when I had just finished my penultimate year at Carr Hill High School was my year.
    The village we live in now, Croston, is twinned with another town, further down the Loire, Azay le Rideau and whilst time restraints meant we couldn't visit this time we did manage to get to Ancenis en route to our next stop, Dol de Bretagne.
    I couldn't really forget the imposing bridge but the rest of the town was quite alien. I was really hoping for a sight I'd remember but it wasn't to be. I did then start to wonder what became of Isabel, my exchange friend, her little sister Miriam and her lovely parents. Maybe I'll contact the twinning committee and see what we can do?
    And as for Azay le Rideau, we will just add that to the list of reasons to return 🇫🇷
    Read more