Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Crossing Skopje

    September 2, 2022 in North Macedonia ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    Fully charged and well rested heading towards the Border to Skopje. You may realise that I call it Skopje and not North Macedonia - this is due to the fact I was told now many times, that the Greek do not want to hear that. So get used to this. ;)

    Arriving there, there was a dog and many others. This one, I wanted to give a snack, it was not interested, but throughout the entire time, focusing the snack I put down for it.

    The border crossing was smooth, maybe 15 minutes waiting. I was quiet optimistic that the job was done. But.. there is always a but.. my European Insurance Proof was required. Shoot. I got it from my insurance, sure thing. But already while packing the car I was not sure where I have left it. It was mandatory to enter Skopje though. Luckily the border control officer had a exceptional day and excepted my digital copy which I found in my mails. No idea what would be the other option.. Luckily I did not need to care anymore.

    Next, sometimes, I think I am a little genius :D
    But first things first. Actually I wanted to visit Skopje City, but driving through it did not feel like a place I need to spend more time. But what’s about quick re-charge? Nothing, after google maps routed me to a nowhere dead end where a free but slow ProCredit Charger was supposed to be located, I decided to take care of the things happening on my own. So, why not searching for the next Porsche / Audi Dealer in the capital city. Surely they have chargers, don’t they? Google Maps did not indicate any, but zooming all the way in.. I saw something. Can you see it too?

    HPC Charger! :) :) unbelievable. Well, they charge EUR 20,00 flat, even though I only needed 10 kWh. Met people from the Netherlands who were going towards Belgrade, probably they were also genius :D

    Since the highway is so not busy in Skopje, I took this nice selfie on the sidestrip.
    Read more